GEO3BCN-CSIC researcher, María-Gema Llorens, has been recently appointed as a new member of the Cryospheric Sciences section of the Spanish Commission of Geodesy and Geophysics (CEGG), a section that was recently created and which is headed by Francisco Navarro, professor at Universidad Politécnica de Madrid.

According to Llorens, "this appointment represents teh opportunity to contribute in the promotion of the cryospheric science through my experience in glaciology research and ice core drilling". The researcher adds that “I did my Ph.D. Thesis on glaciology at Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research in Germany, with whom I’m still collaborating. Moreover, I worked as a external coordinator of MicroDICE network, a Research Networking Programme of the European Science Foundation (ESF), so I’m interested in continuing to develop the cryospheric sciences, but this time in my country”.

María Gema Llorens joined Geosciences Barcelona as a researcher at the beginning of 2020 after being awarded a Juan de la Cierva fellowship. Previously she had been a postdoc researcher at Universitat Autónoma de Barcelona. She is currently working with GEO3BCN-CSC researchers Ivone Jiménez-Munt and Daniel García-Castellanos. Her research is centered on rock and ice microstructure and mechanics, mineral physics, deformation mechanism, mechanical and seismic anisotropy, and numerical modeling.

The Cryospheric Science section is one of the nine CEGG existing sections. The sections are Geodesy, Seismology and Earth's Interior Physics, Geomagnetism and Aeronomy, Vulcanology, Meteorology and Climatology, Physical Oceanography, Hydrology, and Applied Geophysics.

The CEGG is a collegiate interdepartmental body aimed at facilitating coordination and collaboration within the area of Geodesics and Geophysics. The CEGG is part of the Ministry of Transport, Mobility, and Urban Agenda through the General Direction of the Instituto Geográfico Nacional. One of the main objectives of the CEEG is to represent Spain in the international organizations of geodetics and geophysics. The CEGG is also aimed at promoting and fostering physical, chemical, and mathematical research studies and reports of the Earth.

The sections are advisory bodies of the CEGG aimed at coordinating and proposing joint tasks that to be presented to the Commission once a year. These sections can also carry out specific studies and research reports commissioned by the Commission. After her appointment, María Gema Llorens joins the group of GEO3BCN-CSIC researchers who are already members of the CEGG: Joan Martí, CSIC member of Executive Committee, and Adelina Geyer, Secretary of the Volcanology section.

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of this site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

  I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by